Alternate Histories: 8/15, 5/17 (A Group Effort from Frequency Writers)

The story of how this alternate history came to be is here. This one had two contributors.

8/15/14

My parents are getting older and I don’t want to watch them deteriorate. I work with the elderly, so I know what to look for. I look at people and I think, “You’re probably gonna get this disease, or this disease.” My residents’ children sometimes say to me, “I’m the mother now,” but the residents will also say, “My mom’s picking me up.” Sometimes they’re cool with it, sometimes it’s tough–the ones who are more with it will catch themselves, like, “I mean my daughter, my daughter.”

5/17/15

We share the responsibility of children, of parents. We allow each other to be children and parents. If we don’t give birth to children, we are not without children. If our parents are gone, we are not without parents. We take care of each other.

It’s because of two first names. Only one name can be first, Lee or Harvey–choose.

One thought on “Alternate Histories: 8/15, 5/17 (A Group Effort from Frequency Writers)

  1. Pingback: Climate Anxiety Counseling AND Alternate Histories at a Creative Medicine Lecture, 10/14/15 | climateanxietycounseling

Leave a Reply

