I’m back!

From the Washington County Fair, that is, where I sat behind the booth for five days.

Thanks a million to Roxanne Nelson for accepting the booth as a concession, and to the other fair volunteers. Thanks also to Susana Gardner for the idea and to her and her daughter Stella, equestrienne and woods investigator, for hosting me for four nights and walking in the woods with me. 

I still have to transcribe and post the Foo Fest booth stint and I’ll be doing that tonight / tomorrow, but thereafter you should watch this spot to learn about the people who spoke with me, the foodstuffs I ate (fried and otherwise), the number of climate change deniers I fielded, and the livestock I peered at. For the time being, I leave you with the best thing I saw at the fair, from a (probably very) Junior 4-H member’s research project on dogs. You’re looking at the text with the red border, at far left, which I imagine to be the presenter taking advantage of the just-realized possibilities of a public platform.

 

wcf - rainbow - lilly

 

 

4 thoughts on “I’m back!

  1. Hi Kate! My name is Chelsea and I work at the Coastal Institute at URI. I am the girl that asked to take a picture of your booth. Do you have an email so I can ask you a few questions? The staff here at the C.I. got a kick out of your booth and I’d love to chat some more. Thanks!

  2. Hi my name is Michael Borge i met you in your booth at foo fest. I would like to thank you for your service and listening for what i had say. I’m sure you don’t remember why i said but thats ok haha

    Date: Mon, 18 Aug 2014 01:29:52 +0000 To: mborge1992@hotmail.com

    • Hi Michael. Thanks for talking with me at Foo Fest!

      I probably do remember what you said, but not that it was you who said it, because I didn’t write down anybody’s name — it’s important to me to let people be anonymous. (Sometimes I will write down a person’s name in my notes if I know them already, but I won’t post it here.) I’m about to post some of the conversations I had at Foo Fest, actually, and you may see yours up there, but your name won’t be attached to it.

      I hope that you’re doing well this week and thanks again for talking with me.

Leave a Reply

